Deleting old versions from database/folder

ProE/ Creo creates versioned files every time you save a part, drawing, assembly, etc. That means if you save a part 10 times you can see 10 part versions in the folder it is saved.

Here is an example.

If you create a part with the name “Gear_box” and save it, the part saves as “Gear_box.prt.1” and if you save it for the second time, it saves as “Gear_box.prt.2” and so on. Here 1, 2 in the part name are the version numbers.

In the folder, you may not see the version numbers but you will see many parts with the same name. This option/ behavior is very helpful because you can open the earlier versioned file if you have any regeneration failure in the new file or if you want to undo the changes. By default, ProE opens the latest version.

Sometimes you may want to get rid of all the old version files. To do that follow some simple steps given below. There are some options too. Let me explain that.

Note: All methods explained below only delete old versions from the current working directory. That means if you open a file from another location and use these methods, It won’t work for that file.

Option 1: To delete old versions of a single file.

To delete old versions of any part, drawing or assembly alone, just open it in the ProE/ Creo and then open the file menu from the main menu (See the picture below). You can see an option called delete. If you expand this you will see two options.

One Is “Old versions” and the other one Is “All versions”.

Clicking “Old versions” will delete the old versions of that particular file from the current working directory leaving the latest file.

Clicking “All versions” will delete that particular file completely. No latest file will be left out. Be careful when you use these options.

Option 2: Deleting old versions using system window command prompt

This option is very handy and there is no risk of losing the latest version. These commands are executed only in the current working directory. It doesn’t matter whether you open the file or not.

First, open the system window. In ProE WF versions its is located in the “Window -> Open system window” from the main menu bar at the top (see Picture 1). In Creo, it is located at the “Utilities -> Open system window” at the start screen. If you can’t find it, just type ‘system” in the help bar located at the top right corner and then select open system window (see Picture 2). You can customize the screen to include this icon if you want.

Picture 1
System window
Picture 2

We have too many flexibilities in this option, Here are they!

Typing the specific commands / syntaxes and hitting enter results in corresponding actions as shown in the table below.

Only use this command if you don’t need the old versions.

CommandAction
PurgeDeletes old versions of everything (parts, drawings, assemblies, etc.) from the current working directory.
Purge *.extension
(Ex. Purge *.prt, Purge *.asm, etc)
Deletes old versions of all files with the extension given from the current working directory.
Purge filename
(Ex. Purge gear,  Purge handle, etc)
Deletes old versions of all type (part, drawing, etc) with the given name from the current working directory.
Purge filename.extension
(Ex. Purge gear.prt,  Purge handle.asm, etc)
Deletes old versions of files with given type and with the given name from the current working directory.
Using wildcards:
Ex. Purge *box*.
Deletes old versions of all part files that has the word “box” in it from the current working directory.

You can use wildcards with all the combinations mentioned above.

That’s all for this topic. I hope, this helped you.

Share